T R O P H I E S

THE "CANADA'S" CUP. The original contest for this beautiful cup, which was donated by the City of Toledo, was held at that place in 1896, between Vencedor, representing the Lincoln Park Club, of Chicago, and Canada, representing the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, of Toronto, the Canada winning the contest and the cup.

The cup was then presented by the owner of the Canada, by deed of gift to the Royal Canadian Yacht Club "as a perpetual international challenge trophy between representatives of the yacht clubs of the two nations bordering on the Great Lakes." The Chicago Yacht Club was the first challenger, and no less than five yachts from that city were built for the trials. The Genesee, sent by the Rochester Yacht Club, easily captured the honors, and later in the season, as the representative of the Chicago Yacht Club, she defeated the defender, Beaver.

PROGRAM OF CLUB RACES

restrictions as to number of men in crew. In all respects except as herein stated, the regular racing rules will apply.

Time of finish will be taken as yachts cross an imaginary line drawn from the outer end of West Pier to the outer end of East Pier, at Charlotte. No time limit.

The first yacht to cross the finish line will be awarded the Kelpie Cup. Flags and special prizes in each class.

T R O P H I E S

In 1901 the Royal Canadian Yacht Club challenged for the trophy, and trial races were again held by each club. Cadillac, of Detroit, was selected by the Chicago Yacht Club, and Invader by the Royal Canadian. In the light airs prevailing, Invader outdistanced her rival, winning three of the four races.

The series of races sailed off Toronto last season, between Strathcona, representing the Royal Canadian Yacht Club, defenders, and Irondequoit, representing the Rochester Yacht Club, challengers, proved to be the most interesting and exciting in the history of the cup, and resulted in a glorious victory for Irondequoit.

This cup is open for challenge in accordance

with the deed of gift.

THE "FISHER" CUP was presented to the Chicago Yacht Club, July 8, 1882, by A. J. Fisher, Esq., as a challenge cup.

RACING RULES FOR POWER BOATS

All boats shall be subject to the racing and measurement rules of the American Power Boat Association.

Entries for the season shall be made in writing and shall be signed by the owner, giving the name of the boat, rating, and racing number, and must be lodged with the secretary of the Regatta Committee not later than fortyeight hours before the race.

Before each race, boat owners shall be furnished with instructions as to the conditions of the race and the location of courses to be sailed.

The Regatta Committee may postpone a race, should unfavorable weather or other circumstances make a postponement advisable.

T R O P H I E S

Won by Cora, 1882.
Won by Cora, 1882.
Won by Cora, 1883.
Won by Atlanta, 1883.
Won by Morah, 1884.
Won by Norah, 1892.
Won by Onward, 1892.
Won by Genesee, 1900.

On November 1, 1895, the cup became the bona fide property of the owners of the "Onward," in accordance with the rules under which it was won.

In a deed of Gift, made November, 15, 1895, Messrs. J. R. White, Arthur T. Hagen, and Fred S. Todd, owners of the "Onward," donated the cup to the Lake Yacht Racing Association of Lake Ontario, on condition that it shall be a perpetual challenge cup for competition between the sailing yachts which shall be in the 35-foot class and over, enrolled in the clubs of Lake Ontario (including the Bay of Quinte) from time to time forming the part of the L. Y. R. A. The cup shall not be held by the winning yacht, but by a club on

PRIZES—FIRST SERIES

30-35-Foot Class			\$15.00
25-Foot Class			15.00
20-Foot Class			13.00
Special 20-Foot Class			I 2.00
16-Foot Class			8.00

T R O P H I E S

Lake Ontario, eligible to hold the same, to which said yacht belongs, designated by the owner, and such club shall be responsible for its safe keeping. For the first race the Rochester Yacht Club was named as the holder of the cup, and is still held by them. Copies of the original deed of gift may be obtained from the corresponding secretary.

THE "MADGE" CUP was given to the Rochester Yacht Club in 1888, by Wolters Brothers, to be awarded to the yacht making the best record in the Club's fixtures during that season. It was won by "Madge" and was given by her owners to the Club, to be raced for each year, and awarded to the yacht making the best record in all the Club races and cruises for that year.

Won by Velnette in 1890.

In 1891, Velnette, Amelia and Romola scored the same and Velnette retained possession of the cup.

PRIZES—SECOND SERIES

30-35-Foot Class			\$15.00
25-Foot Class			15.00
20-Foot Class			13.00
Special 20-Foot Class			12.00
16-Foot Class			8.00

T R O P H I E S

Won by Nox in 1892. Won by Nox in 1893. In 1894, Nox and Bengula scored the same number of points.

Won by Nydia in 1895. Won by Zanita in 1896. In 1897, Pedro and Chick each scored the same

number of points.

Won by Pedro in 1898. Won by Nox in 1901. Won by Chitta in 1899. Won by Naomi II in 1902. Won by Chitta in 1900. Won by Naomi II in 1903.

THE "KELPIE" CUP was presented to the Club by Col. James S. Graham, to be awarded to the winner of the race on Labor Day of each year.

Won by Kelpie in 1897, 15 competing. Won by Majel in 1898, 13 competing. Won by Verona in 1899, 5 competing. Won by Quo Vadis in 1900, 8 competing. Won by Teaser in 1901, 10 competing. Won by Nox in 1902, 9 competing. Won by Genesee in 1903, 8 competing.

CLASSIFICATION

40-45 FEET IRONDEQUOIT

Cinderella Genesee (Watson) Helene Onward Vreda Cruiser Wave Crest Papoose

30-35 FEET

Amelia Anna Genesee

Mohawk Majel

TROPHIES

THE "WRIGHT" CUP was presented to the Club by Commodore Alfred G. Wright in 1899, to be awarded to the winner in the 25-foot class in the opening cruising race of each year.

The winner in this race may be challenged not later than thirty days from above date, the winner of the second race to hold the cup for the balance of the season.

Won by Iverna, 1899. Won by Iris, 1901.
Won by Iris, 1899. Won by Iris, 1901.
Won by Iverna, 1900. Won by Veritas, 1902.
Won by Iris, 1902.
Won by Teaser, 1903.

THE "BRIGGS" CUP was presented to the Club by Vice-Commodore Wm. H. Briggs, to be awarded the winner of the special series of races for power boats of 26-foot water line and under. Racing rules for this contest may be found on p. 13.

CLASSIFICATION

Iverna
Kittie
Chitta

Veno
Chitta

Veno
Chitta

Veritas

Veritas

Veritas

Lady Emma

20-FOOT SPECIAL

Anoatok Anona Sea Bird
Braze Juanita
Nixye Joker
Merry Chanter Zanita