DID YOU KNOW?

Article from R.Y.C. Yearbook - 1953

CANADA'S CUP

By Lee Shore

Courtesy Yachting Magazine

After a lapse of 20 years, Royal Canadian Y.C. has issued a challenge to Rochester Y.C. for the historic Canada's Cup, the series to be sailed in 1954 in Eight Meter yachts. By the terms of the deed of gift, a challenge must be received 16 months previous to the series, and the challenger shall have the right, within certain limits, to designate the type of yacht that shall be sailed. This trophy was last in competition in 1934 when Rooney Castle, RYC skipper of Eight Meter, "Conewago" defended it against Tom Wade and "Invader II" of RCYC.

The trophy was presented by the city of Toledo and won originally by the yacht "Canada" of RCYC sailing against "Vencedor" of Lincoln Park Y.C., Chicago, in 1896. It has been in the possession of the Rochester Y.C. since 1903. After the race in 1896 "Canada's" owners presented the cup as a perpetual trophy to the YRU of the Great Lakes. In 1899, "Genesee", built for RYC but sailing under Chicago Y.C. colors, took the cup from "Beaver" of RCYC. In 1901, AEmilius Jarvis, sailing "Invader", reclaimed the cup for RCYC, only to lose it in 1903 to Addison Hannan and "Irondequoit", bringing the cup for the first time to RYC.

In 1905 and 1907 respectively the cup was challenged for by "Temeraire", skipper E.K.M. Wedd, and "Adele", skipper AEmilius Jarvis, but successfully defended both times by Lorry Mabbett sailing "Iroquois", and Addison Hannon in "Seneca". For 23 years there were no races for Canada's Cup; then in 1930 RCYC sent "Quest", and Norman Gooderham to RYC to try to wrest the cup away from Bill Barrows and "Thisbe", but were unsuccessful. In 1932 "Invader II" with Walter Windeyer as skipper, made a bid for the cup hoping to repeat "Invader I" history but lost to Rooney Castle and "Conewago", who again two years later retained the cup against "Invader II" and Tom Wade. Will a new generation battle it out next year for the cup, or will Tom Wade and Rooney Castle, both active racing skippers today, pit their skills and experience against each other once again?

Iskareen R.Y.C. sailed by Howard K. Litgord; Venture RCYC skippered by Dave Howard.

We Lost the Cup!

From the Historical Committee